With its Steering Committee in place, Master Plan review will gear up to reach out

February 21, 2014
by Christine Yeres

The Master Plan Steering Committee is membered-up, the Town seems to have found the funds to hire Pace Land Use Center to run its Master Plan community outreach, and a Business Development Advisory Committee is close to being “firmed up.”  Plus, proposals for Chappaqua Crossing and the Spa at New Castle seem to be working their way into the light of the Master Plan review.

Downtown Business Development Advisory Committee

According to Supervisor Rob Greenstein, the Business Development Advisory Committee he and Adam Brodsky have assembled “will assist the Town Board by identifying and recommending policy initiatives that will strengthen our existing businesses, attract new and desirable businesses to New Castle, and help our community revitalize our downtown business hamlet while facilitating the harmonious development of Chappaqua Crossing.”  Membership of the committee has been “firmed up” this week, said Greenstein.  Names of the committee members have not yet been released.  Greenstein himself will head the committee.  The committee appears on the Town Board’s work session agenda for Tuesday, February 25:

8:10 pm – 8:15 pm Downtown Business Development Advisory Committee

The regular meeting begins at 8:30 p.m.  Click HERE for agendas for both.

Master Plan Steering Committee

The Town Board will officially appoint the five Master Plan Steering Committee members who will conduct a review of the Town Development Plan (a/k/a “Master Plan”).  They are Bob Kirkwood and Richard Brownell, both members of the Planning Board; Hala Makowska, Chairperson of the Millwood Board of Fire Commissioner; Maud Bailey, who worked on the Town’s last Master Plan; and Town Board member Adam Brodsky.

Talks with Summit Greenfield

Asked when he would reveal the substance of his talks with Summit Greenfield on the possible use or acquisition of the cupola building for a town hall, Greenstein responded, “Most likely at our joint Town Board and Planning Board meeting.”  He gave no date.

Town hall to cupola concept

The concept of selling town hall and its surrounding nine acres, or parts of it, for development and relocating town hall and police functions to the cupola building at Chappaqua Crossing will be discussed, said Greenstein, through the Master Plan review and its outreach process.

Town hires professional community outreach consultants

Town will engage—for money—from the Pace Land Use Law Center to conduct community outreach for Master Plan review. 

At the Town Board’s public hearing on the scoping document for Spa at New Castle, Greenstein was asked about the timeline for the Master Plan review.  “We have a Steering Committee now,” he said, “and the [Pace] consultants will lead the outreach process.  There are a lot of applications pending.  The Master Plan is a legal document, but the public outreach is a key part of it that will take place over the next four, five or six months.”

And, Nick Ward-Willis, Counsel to the Town Board, noted, “there are things that will be studied [for the Spa application] that will be relevant to the Master Plan.”

 


Comments(17):
We encourage civil, civic discourse. All comments are reviewed before publication to assure that this standard is met.

This from the report above:
“Plus, proposals for Chappaqua Crossing and the Spa at New Castle seem to be working their way into the light of the Master Plan review.”

And this from the 2/25 TB agenda:
“7:30 pm - 7:40 pm Proposed Revised Ethics Law”

...should stifle the carpers still clinging to the (mis)rule of past town boards. Of course, it won’t. But they will learn.

By bob on 02/21/2014 at 2:46 pm

This very disheartening.  Adam Brodsky is not a credible selection for the master plan steering committee or for the downtown development committee. 

I would say that so far, Rob Greenstein is batting zero.

By Jeff on 02/21/2014 at 3:28 pm

Greenstein and Brodsky have assembled a “Downtown Business development advisory board”. Now that should be interesting And nothing more than a charade.  Brodsky and his wealthy family he works for own downtown property. His self serving position was made very clear during his campaign for Town board election. He favors relaxed regulation and expanding the size of downtown stores. Sure he does! It puts $$$$ in his pocket.

Greenstein has been a vocal and enthusiastic supporter of the Napoli plan from day one. Napoli plans for our downtown includes 400 car cement garage adjacent to Bell school , expanded retail to include ” large format stores” ( those areNapolis exact words and he means CHAIN-STORES downtown), and a gigantic 5 story theater.  We don’t want that but with Brodsky and Greenstein behind this advisory board we can guess the conclusion. They will stop retail at CC ( including Whole Foods) and push thru Napoli.  Of course they will blame Summit Greenfield accusing them of not comprising enough. Katz is already telling people that retail will NOT be coming to CC. It’s a big charade - the fix is in.

By Here we go! on 02/21/2014 at 5:49 pm

Brodsky was overwhelming ELECTED. Let him do his job (along with the four others on the steering committee, who could easily out vote him) and stop carrying water for the humiliated town democrat committee that gave us Carpenter, Stout and Penny!

By bob on 02/21/2014 at 6:05 pm

bob or rob?  They appear to be interchangeable.

By They sing the same song! on 02/21/2014 at 7:45 pm

Hey bob - for your information the newly elected Town Board members are card carrying Democrats. AND Mr Obama also was overwhelming elected too. How’s that working out? How are those shovel ready jobs, those health insurance policy that if you liked you could keep, how are we doing in Syria, Egypt, Russia, Europe, how about our constant drone strikes that kill innocent civilians, how about the NSA spying scandal, Benghazi, and the IRS scandal. My point is that winning an election doesn’t mean that the electorate , the people,  will be served properly or honestly. We got hosed with Brodsky, Katz and a Greenstein. You will see…....

By Hey bob on 02/21/2014 at 10:30 pm

@ Hey bob,

You nailed it!

By Good one! on 02/22/2014 at 12:30 am

@Hey bob,

Well, you’ve certainly been hosed by Obama, but the local democrats who’ve really hosed you go back to Wells, Carpenter, Stout, Chapin, Mottel, the list goes on and on.

By bob on 02/22/2014 at 7:15 am

@Here we go!,

“...400 car cement garage adjacent to Bell school…”

The school board needs to sell Bell to a developer and use the proceeds (and savings) to reduce school taxes. The Bell property can be added to the tax rolls and be developed as part of the hamlet revitalization project. Everybody will be happy, even you.

By tax relief on 02/22/2014 at 8:47 am

Don’t take bob too seriously, he’s kinda like the New Castle NOW mascot - always on the sidelines saying and doing funny things but never on the field actually playing. 
He’s not even on the bench, just a mascot entertaining people.

By C.R. on 02/22/2014 at 10:53 am

bob,

Once anyone is ELECTED, their responsibility for transparency and responsibility
BEGINS,  it does not end.

Adam Brodsky, as general council to his family’s, the Hakim’s real estate investments owes the community an accounting of those blighted buildings along north greeley ave.

Rob Greenstein should have insisted on this and Greenstein now placing himself on the downtown development committee along with Brodsky is an obvious deflection of many
voters concerns.

bob, it is hardly the humiliated democrats who are concerned with this.  You are fooling yourself if you think otherwise.

Adam Brodsky DOES NOT belong on the master plan steering committee.  This was a stupid, stone deaf decision by Supervisor Greenstein.  One wonders, what does Greenstien OWE Brodsky and his family.

By too many unanswered questions on 02/22/2014 at 11:35 am

New Castle now are you removing comments?

By NCGPS on 02/24/2014 at 6:33 pm

How can the town board finalize the appointment of the master plan committee without the names being mentioned at a board hearing.  it takes 3 Members to vote yes for them.  If they already know the names and just propose the 5 people without having mentioned them or vetting them first it seems to me that it is a violation of the Open Meeting Law.  How else did these names come up as approved and ready to finalize.

If this continues someone affected will sue and if successful; void the work done by those members not discussed in public hearings.  The names were in the papers has finalized. I like to know who finalized them and can they be finalized without at least three Board members agreeing and if they did that it is a violation of law.

By Steve Goldenberg on 02/25/2014 at 4:05 pm

Editor’s Note:  Benched until you contact me, as I’ve told you elsewhere.

By duh on 02/25/2014 at 8:31 pm

Many comments have not been posted unfortunately.

Editor’s Note: That’s right. Carping, ad hominem ones toward a particular individual—all by you.

By sad on 02/25/2014 at 8:47 pm

All? It seems that ad hominem comments aimed at particular individuals written by some are indeed permitted and posted. In fact, they exist in some of the stories in this edition. Perhaps It would be fairer to apply the standard, which I don’t object to, to all.

Editor’s Note: If you would like an explanation, email me: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

By sad on 02/26/2014 at 8:02 am

No explanation needed. I understand the policy and, as I said, I don’t object to it at all. I will just hope that going forward it will be applied to all.

Editor’s Note:  No, I don’t think you do understand. You’re benched until you contact me.

By sad on 02/26/2014 at 8:14 am


Post a comment:

Display Name*:

Your Display Name will be associated with this comment on NewCastleNOW.org. We encourage commentators to use their real name or initials.

We encourage civil, civic discourse. In other words, be pithy and polite. All comments will be reviewed before publication to assure that this standard is met.