Greeley’s Senior Athletic Awards

Monday, July 1, 2013
by Christine Yeres

The morning after the June 9 Senior Athletic Awards Dinner, Athletic Director Pete Kuczma wrote to families of the athletes, “After being away for 10 years and returning to this event I could not have been prouder to see this fine tradition still with the same flare and excellence as before.  This will always be a way to complete the athletic experience by bringing parents and athletes together to review the accomplishments.  It was my pleasure to work with all of you.  Thanks for all of your help.”


Outstanding Senior Male Athlete
“Nicholas J. Perrelle Award”
Risten Clarke (the third of three Clarke brothers who received this award)

Outstanding Senior Female Athlete
“Elizabeth Todd Eldon Award”
Maura Grant

Male Senior Scholar Athlete
“Torrey D. Dodson Award”
Brent Lobien

Female Senior Scholar Athlete
“Jeanne B. Irwin Award”
Kathleen Duncalf
Sara McElheny

Special Awards
3 Sports for 4 Years
Blake Davis
Conor Dowd
Maura Grant
Alexandra Herzog
Brent Lobien
Sara McElheny

Special Recognition by the Athletic Director
Cory Ekstrom

Retiring Coach
Steve Houser
32 years coaching – Softball, Cross Country and Track & Field

Lacrosse Team

Brent Lobien and Cory Ekstrom with parents

Brent Lobien (left) most outstanding male scholar athlete
Cory Ekstrom. (Right) Athletic director recognition award.

Football Team

Wrestling Team


Risten Clarke with Katie Duncalf

Risten Clarke with Boys’ Swim Coach Meg Kaplan

We encourage civil, civic discourse. All comments are reviewed before publication to assure that this standard is met.

There are no comments for this article yet.

Post a comment:

Display Name*:

Your Display Name will be associated with this comment on We encourage commentators to use their real name or initials.

We encourage civil, civic discourse. In other words, be pithy and polite. All comments will be reviewed before publication to assure that this standard is met.